Competition 2022

Who will receive the 2022 Willy Brandt Documentary Award for Freedom and Human Rights?

This year, ten filmmakers are once again hoping to win the renowned Willy Brandt Documentary Award for Freedom and Human Rights. With their documentaries, they are participating in this year’s Human Rights Film Festival Berlin competition. The prize is endowed with EUR 3,000, which has been donated by the Federal Chancellor Willy Brandt Foundation. The international jury will select one of ten documentaries for its outstanding content and artistic achievements.

The Willy Brandt Documentary Film Prize for Freedom and Human Rights was awarded for the first time at the 2019 Human Rights Film Festival Berlin. That year, Peter Brandt, son of former Federal Chancellor and Nobel Peace Prize-winner Willy Brandt, presented the prize to Russian director Askold Kurov. Kurov received the award for his impressive 2018 documentary ‘Novaya’ about the editorial board of Novaya Gazeta, one of Russia’s first and now last independent newspapers. The 2020 laureate was the Kenyan documentary ‘Softie’ by director Sam Soko about the political activist Boniface Mwangi and his wife Njeri Mwangi. Last year, director Zahavi Sanjavi received the award for his moving film ‘Imad’s Childhood’ (2021) about five-year-old Imad, who has spent more than half his life in IS captivity and is returning to his Yazidi family.

‘We need that level of emotions that documentaries trigger in us to really understand and internalise things.’
Peter Brandt auf der Bühne des HRFFB 2021
Peter Brandt

The Willy Brandt Documentary Film Award for Freedom and Human Rights is intended to commemorate Willy Brandt’s achievements as Federal Chancellor and a Nobel Peace Prize-winner and to support outstanding film-makers whose work exemplifies Willy Brandt’s values: freedom, justice and solidarity.

Jury 2022: Martina Dase (Save the Children), Uli Edel (Director), Malte Mau (Bundeskanzler-Willy-Brandt-Stiftung), Edima Otuokon (Ladima Foundation) and  Hana Kulhankova (Institute of Documentary Film)

Competition 2022
3. OCTOBER 2022