Awards & Jury

Awards 2019


The Sustainable Impact Award acknowledges and celebrates the power of documentaries to contribute for a lasting change. The award, endowed by the Federal Foreign Office with 3.000 EUR, will be presented at the Human Rights Film Festival Berlin 2019 for the first time.

Selmin Çalışkan
Director of Institutional Relationships in the Berlin Office of the Open Society Foundations

Marie Steinmann 

Founder of One Fine Day e. V. and ONE FINE DAY FILMS


The price, endowed with EUR 3,000 by the Bundeskanzler-Willy-Brandt Stiftung, honours a documentary film for its outstanding artistic and editorial achievement. It will be presented by Peter Brandt at the Human Rights Film Festival Berlin 2019.

Fred Abrahams
Associate Director for Program Human Rights Watch

Karin Albers
Filmmaker and visual artist (


Marion Döring
CEO of EFA Productions gGmbH

Malte Mau
Head of Press and Public Relations Bundeskanzler-Willy-Brandt-Stiftung

Martina Dase
Director of Media & Communications Save the Children


The prize, endowed with EUR 3,000 by the UNO-Flüchtlingshilfe national partner of UNHCR, honours eight short films by young filmmakers under 24 on the subject of “What do human rights mean to you?” The best submissions will be shown during the festival.

Dirk Wilutzky
Producer and Director
(2015 Oscar for CITIZENFOUR)

Anetta Kahanes 
Founder and Board Member of the Amadeu Antonio Stiftung

Gunnar Solka, 

Jabora Speder
Human Rights Film Festival Berlin

Sophia Oppermann
Founder and CEO "Gesicht zeigen!"

Stephan Lamby
Film Maker and Producer

Adnan Maral
Actor, Author and Producer

Bernhard von Grünberg
Member of the Honorary Board of the UNO-Flüchtlingshilfe

17. SEPTEMBER 2019