How to be an activist

How to change the world

"How wonderful it is that nobody needs to wait a single moment before starting to improve the world." - Anne Frank.

We could not agree more! But, how exactly can we change the world and take action?

We have a few ideas about that that we would like to share with you today, on the occasion of International Volunteer Day. Often easier than you think to become active and have a positive impact on our world and our environment.

1. Stand up, organize & be loud!

"It always seems impossible until it is accomplished," Nelson Mandela once said. The resistance fighter against apartheid was one of South Africa's leading activists and the country's first Black president. And if he taught us one thing, it is that it pays to stand up for the things we want to change. The best way to do that is together. Social movements such as #MeToo, #BlackLivesMatter and #FridaysforFuture, for example, have taken strong stands.

FRIEDLICHE UND INKLUSIVE GESELLSCHAFTEN FÜR EINE NACHHALTIGE ENTWICKLUNG FÖRDERN ...
Global Goal 16
Global Goals

The Ants and The Grasshopper

Anita Chitaya is a fighter: she can get men to stand up for equality and knows how to grow food even on dead soil. But to fight hunger in her native Malawi and secure people's livelihoods, she faces her biggest challenge: convincing the USA that climate change is real. 

Watch online!

2. Stand up for others!

Reflect on your privileges and use them to help others. What feels like a small gesture to you may be huge to someone else. Think about what you are good at and enjoy doing and how you can support others with your talents. Whether it is something small or big, let's get started!

 

Justice For Sale

JUSTICE FOR SALE follows Claudine, a young, courageous Congolese human rights lawyer who refuses to accept that justice can actually be "bought" in her country. As she attempts to obtain justice for a wrongfully convicted soldier, she exposes a system in which the fundamental principles of law are ignored.

Watch online now!

3. Change your perspective!

Step out of your own bubble and deal with stories and realities that are completely different from your own. And what is especially important: Listen to people when they talk about their experiences with discrimination, for example racism. Be attentive and try to reflect your own perspective on the world.

Shadow Game

They call it "The Game." Every day, children and young people try to cross the border into Europe. For protection and a better life, they left behind their families and their country. SHADOW GAME gives an intimate, first-hand look at their reality. A hard-hitting film that weaves the experiences of many young refugees into a modern odyssey.

Watch online!

4. Just do it!

You've been thinking for weeks about whether you should help your elderly neighbor with the groceries, or you're annoyed that there aren't enough bike lanes in your city? No matter what inspires you: get active, whether on a small or large scale. So much is possible if we just do it!

Why don't you just start right now and become a Volunteer at HRFFB 2022?

Join us in advocating for burning issues like freedom of expression, the climate crisis, and equality!

Tell us something about yourself, your interests and why you want to becoma a volunteer at HRFFB.
Submit
*mandatory

Notes on the processing of your information and rights of objection: Privacy policy

A Man Can Make A Difference

"This was brutal mass murder and I can prove it!" With these words, Benjamin Ferencz became the chief prosecutor in the Nuremberg trial of the SS murder gangs in 1947. A MAN CAN MAKE A DIFFERENCE traces the stirring life of Ferencz, a small man with a big vision. 

Watch online now!

6. DECEMBER 2021

How to be an activist

How to change the world
 

“How wonderful it is that nobody needs to wait a single moment before starting to improve the world.” - Anne Frank.

Wir könnten nicht mehr zustimmen! Doch, wie genau können wir die Welt verändern und aktiv werden?

Dazu haben wir ein paar Ideen, die wir euch heute, anlässlich des Tages des Ehrenamtes, gerne mitgeben möchten. Denn oft ist es leichter als gedacht, aktiv zu werden und einen positiven Einfluss auf unsere Welt und unser Umfeld zu haben.

Aktivist:in werden - Unsere Ideen:

 

1. Aufstehen, organisieren & laut sein!

„Es erscheint immer unmöglich, bis es vollbracht ist", sagte Nelson Mandela einst. Der Widerstandskämpfer gegen die Apartheid war einer der führenden Aktivisten Südafrikas und der erste Schwarze Präsident des Landes. Und wenn er uns eines gelehrt hat: Es lohnt sich, für die Dinge einstehen, die wir verändern wollen. Und das am besten gemeinsam. Soziale Bewegungen wie beispielsweise #Metoo, #BlackLivesMatter oder #FridaysforFuture haben starke Zeichen gesetzt.

FRIEDLICHE UND INKLUSIVE GESELLSCHAFTEN FÜR EINE NACHHALTIGE ENTWICKLUNG FÖRDERN ...
Global Goal 16
Global Goals

The Ants and The Grasshopper

Anita Chitaya ist eine Kämpferin: Sie kann Männer dazu bringen, sich für Gleichberechtigung einzusetzen und weiß, wie man auch auf toten Böden Nahrung anbaut. Um den Hunger in ihrer Heimat Malawi zu bekämpfen und die Lebensgrundlage der Menschen zu sichern, reist sie von Malawi über Kalifornien bis ins Weiße Haus. 

Schaut euch den Film jetzt online an!

2. Setzt euch für andere ein!

Reflektiert eure Privilegien und nutzt sie, um anderen zu helfen. Was sich für euch nur wie eine kleine Geste anfühlt, kann für jemand anderen ganz groß sein. Überlegt, was ihr gut könnt und gerne macht und wie ihr andere mit euren Talenten unterstützen könnt. Egal ob im Kleinen oder im Großen - Los geht's!

Justice For Sale

JUSTICE FOR SALE folgt der jungen, mutigen kongolesischen Menschenrechtsanwältin Claudine, die sich weigert zu akzeptieren, dass die Gerechtigkeit in ihrem Land tatsächlich "zu kaufen" ist. Während sie versucht, Gerechtigkeit für einen zu Unrecht verurteilten Soldaten zu erreichen, deckt sie ein System auf, in dem die grundlegenden Prinzipien des Rechts ignoriert werden.

Schaut euch den Film jetzt online an!

3. Perspektive wechseln!

Tretet aus eurer eigenen Bubble heraus und setzt euch mit Geschichten und Lebensrealitäten auseinander, die ganz anders sind als eure eigene. Und besonders wichtig: Hört Menschen zu, wenn sie von ihren Diskriminierungserfahrungen mit zum Beispiel Rassismus oder Ableismus berichten. Seid aufmerksam und versucht so, euren eigenen Blickwinkel auf die Welt zu reflektieren.

Shadow Game

Sie nennen es „Das Spiel“. Jeden Tag versuchen Kinder und Jugendliche, über die Grenze nach Europa zu gelangen. Für Schutz und ein besseres Leben haben sie ihre Familien und ihr Land verlassen. "Shadow Game" gibt einen intimen, unmittelbaren Einblick in ihre Realität. Ein knallharter Film, der die Erfahrungen vieler junger Flüchtender zu einer modernen Odyssee verwebt.

Schaut euch den Film jetzt online an!

4. Einfach Machen!

Du denkst seit Wochen darüber nach, ob du deiner älteren Nachbarin beim Einkauf helfen solltest oder ärgerst dich darüber, dass es in deiner Stadt zu wenig Fahrradwege gibt? Egal, was dich bewegt: Werde aktiv –ob im Kleinen oder Großen. So vieles ist möglich, wenn wir es einfach machen!

Fang doch jetzt gleich an und werde Volunteer beim HRFFB 2022 und setze dich mit uns zusammen für brennende Themen wie Meinungsfreiheit, die Klimakrise und Gleichberechtigung ein!

Erzähle uns etwas über dich, deine Interessen und warum du ein Volunteer beim Human Rights Film Festival Berlin werden möchtest!
Absenden
*Pflichtfelder

Hinweise zur Verarbeitung Ihrer Angaben und Widerspruchsrechte: Datenschutz

A Man Can Make A Difference

„Das war kaltblütiger Massenmord und ich kann das beweisen!“ Mit diesen Worten wurde Benjamin Ferencz 1947 zum Chefankläger im Nürnberger Einsatzgruppen-Prozess gegen die Mordbanden der SS. Der Film A MAN CAN MAKE A DIFFERENCE zeichnet das mitreißende Leben von Ferencz nach, einem kleinen Mann mit einer großen Vision.

Schaut euch den Film jetzt online an!

3. DECEMBER 2021